MAIN LOCATION

Open Call Expo

A selection of international photographers

OPEN CALL EXHIBITION: A selection of international photographers exhibit their most iconic image of the recent eventful period.

A lot has happened in 2020; new history is written and documented. We think it is important to show these memorable periods of time  in the new edition of our festival. From June to August 2020, everyone was welcome to register for the Open Call. We exhibit all kinds of different interpretations of our theme ‘Transitions’. These images have been carefully selected by our judges. We see these new talents as promising and unique.

From September 3 to September 20, 2020, Foto Festival Schiedam takes us on a journey of contemporary photography. With the theme ‘Transitions’, the festival presents a wide range of photographers who capture and investigate the constantly changing world of today. The differences between rich and poor and left and right seem to be growing, while different cultures and traditions influence each other in many ways. These contemporary transitions, such as the Covid19 crisis and the Brexit, are the common thread in the edition of Foto Festival Schiedam 2020. The seventh edition of the festival is characterized by the refreshing combination of different genres within photography. The photos are displayed at a special location in the historic city center and presented in spatial installations, an innovative form that is different from a typical photo on the wall.

Winner open call 2020: Julia Fullerton Batten https://www.juliafullerton-batten.com/

Kasper Christiansen https://kaschr.com/

Nuno Serrao https://www.nunoserrao.com/

Connor Lundy 

Nathan Favot http://www.nathanfavot.com/

Hyun De Grande https://hyundegrande.com/

Robert Hyde https://www.roberthyde.xyz/about

Anton Roland Laub https://www.antonlaub.de/

Rebecca Uliczka  https://www.rebeccauliczka.com/

Saskia Wesseling https://saskiawesseling.com/

Anja Engelke http://anja-engelkede.squarespace.com/

Philippe Sarfati https://philippe-sarfati-archi-photo.squarespace.com/

Christian Nicolay https://www.christiannicolay.com/

Dax Ward https://www.daxward.com/

David Bowe https://www.david-bowe.com/

Demetris Koilalous https://neoskosmos.com/en/115427/heterotopia-the-promised-land-at-head-on/ 

Wiktor Dabkowski https://www.wiktor.photography/index

Cristiano Volk https://www.cristianovolk.com/

Astrid de Haan https://astriddenhaan.myportfolio.com/

Jakub Pasierkiewicz https://www.instagram.com/jakubpasierkiewicz/

Hiro Tanaka https://asianmanrecords.com/hiro/

Julia Pelealu http://www.pleincouleur.eu/

MAIN LOCATION

Dirkzwagerterrein
Groenweegje 7
3111 PB Schiedam

Opening hours: Friday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Saturday: 10 AM - 6 PM
Sunday: 10 AM - 6 PM


View on map